Admin Sign In 

Advanced News Reporting 

Last update: Sep 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uwrf.edu/AdvancedNews  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Newspaper & Periodical Databases and Websites             Print Page
  
 

Periodical Databases

Here is a link to the SuperSearch Custom Search News page. You will find the following databases & more searchable from there.  Use the Simple or Advanced search box to enter your question, check the boxes for up to eight databases & click GO. Perodical Databases SuperSearch Tutorial.

A multipurpose database that is useful for finding information on many subjects is:

Academic Search Complete 
multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc

 
 

Newspaper Databases

ABYZ World Newspapers & Media Worldwides links to newspapers and news media.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Huge database of national and international news sources.  Also includes college newspapers.

New York Times Historical (1851-2005) Keyword searchable, it includes the complete paper cover-to-cover with full page and article images.


Newspaper Source Pluss (EBSCO) This database includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts

 

 

Websites

In addition to using comprehensive web search engines, such as Google, try searching directories of web sites selected by reviewers for their quality, reliability, and accuracy.  The Web Search Tools page includes a list of gateways to selected web sites, including:

Librarian’s Internet Index
Leads you to high quality Internet resources on a variety of topics that have been evaluated and selected by librarians.

Infomine
Focus on “academically oriented” or “scholarly” Internet sites.

Bulletin Board for Libraries: BUBL 5:15
Focus on “academically oriented” or “scholarly” Internet sites.

 
 

Reference

You are not alone! There are several ways to contact a librarian for help:

email Email Us
form Use the Ask a Librarian Form
Phone Phone: (715) 425-3343
Visit us in person

We're here to help you!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait