Admin Sign In 

How to Create an Annotated Bibliography  Tags: annotated_bibliography  

This guide will show you how to create an annotated bibliography.
Last update: Nov 11th, 2008 URL: http://libguides.uwrf.edu/annotatedbib  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

What is this Guide for?

This library guide is designed to help you create an annotated bibliography. It will take you through a step-by-step process that starts with topic selection, and ends with a polished, professional document. 

 

Thank You Tony

Many thanks my colleague Tony Amodeo, Reference Librarian at the Von Der Ahe Library in Los Angelos. This guide is created by him and used (with permission) from his annotated bibliography guide.

 
 

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is a helpful research tool that lists useful resources for a specific research topic or area. It includes a short commentary for each book, article, Web site, etc. that it lists. The commentary is descriptive (tells about the content) and evaluative (tells about the author's point of view, whether the item is "mainstream" or takes a new or radical tack, and for what kind of research it would be useful).


Annotated bibliographies answer the question: "What would be the most relevant, most useful or most up-to-date sources for this topic?" You can see how they are of value to scholars. And, as an assignment, they get you to engage in the work of scholarship, using your knowledge, research, and critical thinking skills.

 

 
 

Need Help?

Everyone does from time to time! There are several ways to contact a librarian for help:

email Email Us
form Use the Ask a Librarian Form
Phone Phone: (715) 425-3343
Visit us in person

We're here to help you!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait