Research Guides: Legal Resources: Databases

Databases

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. The legal content includes:

All federal and state statutes, codes and regulations
All federal and state case law going back to the inception of that body of law (1789 for federal and date of statehood for the states)
Articles of all major law journals
Briefs of the U.S. Supreme Court
Shepard's (for more information, see the "Shepard's" section of this guide)
Plus a number of basic legal reference sources (for more information, see the "Additional Research Help" section of this guide).

Search@UW includes journal articles books, media and digital collections at UWRF and across the UW System. To view full many full-text items users must sign in with a Falcon Account.

Congress.gov
U.S. Legislative information
GovInfo
Public access to government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Legal content includes Supreme Court case law back to volume 1 of the U.S. Reports, federal appellate cases beginning in the 1920s, and state cases beginning in the 1950s. Law journal literature is also included.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database for U.S. legislative information. This database is used to retrieve congressional materials and legislative histories. Congressional now includes historical information, for maximum search control, use the Advanced Search form.