Last Updated: Aug 13, 2013
Please contact the Research Help Desk if you need help with your library research. There are several ways to contact us:
We're here to help you!
Click HERE to see the RHD hours.
Here is a list of suggested databases that contain information on sports medicine issues. If you’re unsure which database(s) to use, try one listed below, or go to the Research Help Desk for further assistance.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Research authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
1887-present. Provides abstracts and indexing (use FindIt to find full text) for 1300 journals. Also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters.
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,250 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. This database is published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, an authority on educating patients about drug use and safety.
Key Features of AHFS: drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; available in a Spanish version translated by experienced human health and medical translators (not by computer programs); updated monthly. This database conforms to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Keystone Guidelines for the provision of “useful” prescription medicine information to consumers and the FDA's Guidance for Useful Written Consumer Medication Information; includes “How To” monographs for administering different types of medications such as eye drops and inhalers; identifies medications that have the potential for adverse events when used by elderly patients as recomm