This is the "Databases" page of the "Resources for Seminar in Geology, Geology 485" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for Seminar in Geology, Geology 485  

Last Updated: Feb 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uwrf.edu/govdoc_geology485 Print Guide

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Information

For specific databases choose SuperSearch Custom Search, Geology or review all resources by going to Find Resources. To read descriptions of databases in SuperSearch click the icon. For tips on how to use SuperSearch, see SuperSearch Tutorial

Newspaper databases

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Archive provides access to small town Newspapers. Use the search tab to limit date and geography.

 

databases

GeoRef, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, Google Scholar and the Web of Knowledge are highly recommended for this class. These databases also have special features, so using the native interface is better. 

 The GeoRef database was established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966 to provide access to the geoscience literature of the world. The database contains over 2.2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. 

The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

*is the truncation or wildcard symbol. It is used to expand a search term to include all forms of a root word.  

 

Operational order for Command Line Searches

  

Operator Description Example
AND Look for documents that contain all of your words or phrases.

Use AND to narrow your search and get fewer results.
dinosaurs AND physiology temperature
OR Look for documents that contain any of your words or phrases.

Use OR to broaden your search and get more results.
dinosaur * and (thermophysiology OR warm blood * OR cold blood *)
NOT

Look for documents that contain one of your search terms, but not the other. 

Use with care! 

dinosaur* NOT north america
NEAR/n or N/n Look for documents that contain two search terms, in any order, within a specified number of words apart.  Replace ‘n’ with a number. In the example, 3 means within 3 words.  Hydraulic fracturing N/3 natural gas well
PRE/n or P/n Look for documents that contain one search term that appears within a specified number of words before a second term.  Replace ‘n’ with a number.  In the example, 4 means the first term precedes the second term by 4 or fewer words.   Use when word order in important. far field p/3 Tsunami

Operator precedence

ProQuest follows a default order when interpreting a search that uses operators to combine search terms. ProQuest combines operator in the order indicated below: NEAR
PRE
AND
OR
NOT

For more controlled searching, use parentheses to override the default operator precedence.

 

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, this multidisciplinary database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Google Scholar  provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly
research.

Web of Science/ Web of Knowledge (ISI) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines, covering approximately 2,100 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts, with all cited references captured. The Web of Knowledge provides the following types of searches.Easy Search - searches by topic, person, or place and returns a maximum of 100 results. This is the easiest search option.
General Search - searches for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. This is the most flexible search option.
Cited Reference - searches articles that have cited a specific work by an author.
Advanced Search- searches using the General Search field tags and set combinations. This type of search is for expert users.

Combined Search- enables combined search sets (also called queries) created from the General Search or Advanced Search screens.

The General, Advanced and Combined Searches can be sorted by

   latest date
   times cited
   relevance
   first author
   source title

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip