Admin Sign In 

Education Resources  Tags: education teaching  

Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uwrf.edu/educationresources  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print Page
  
 

Books

FINDING BOOKS

There are four ways to find relevant books and curricula. You can: (1) browse the uwrf Reference Collection, (2) search for books in the UWRF library using our online catalog, or (3) search the UWRF Curriculum Materials Center, or (4) use Universal Borrowing to find and order books from other UW libraries.

 

1) Browse the Reference Collection

You can find introductions to education-related topics in a variety of reference books. Reference books are great for several reasons: you can quickly learn professional terminology, read short articles about your topic, or find valuable secondary sources (other books or journal articles on topic, or relevant organizations and websites). The following titles are located in the Reference Collection (next to the Research Help Desk). They cannot be checked out, but you can take notes, or make photocopies of relevant pages. If your topic is not covered in the texts listed below, feel free to contact the Research Help Desk to see if there is a reference work that would be helpful to you.

* The Encyclopedia of Education (REF LB15 .E47 2003)

* Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration (REF LB2805 .E527 2006)

* Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia (REF LB17 .P485 1996)

* Handbook of Educational Psychology (REF LB1050 .H2354 1996)

* Encyclopedia of Educational Research (REF LB15 .E48 1992

* Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory (REF BF318 .E53 1992)

* Encyclopedia of special education : a reference for the education of the handicapped and other exceptional

children and adults (REF LC4007 .E53 2000)

 


 

2) Search the Library's Online Catalog for Books

You can search the library's online catalog to retrieve material on your topic, most of which can be checked out. If you need help locating the materials, please contact the Research Help desk in the Library.

Searching the online catalog:

There are several ways to search the catalog; below are two suggestions. Depending on your personality and research style, hopefully one will work for you.

A) Use the Google-like Quick Search box. Enter your search terms just as you do in Google--no need to use Boolean Operators (if you even know what they are...). It's easy, but one drawback is that the result are ranked by RELAVANCE, not by DATE ORDER. For example:

Quick Search Search
  Search By 

 

B) A second option: use the Advanced Search option for a date-ordered, more specific search. In the first box, enter your subject, or choose one from those listed in the table below. To narrow your search, feel free to add a second term in the box below the first. For example:

 

   Simple Search    
    
   
 Search for:    Search in:
   
  AND   OR   NOT
 Search for:    Search in:
   
  AND   OR   NOT
 Search for:    Search in:
   
 

 


 

3) Search the Curriculum Materials Center

The library maintains a substantial collection of educational reference materials, curriculum guides,tests, fiction and nonfiction books for children and young adults as well as selected children’s periodicals. These materials are located on the 2nd floor of the library, unless otherwise noted. Use the the online catalog to locate specific materials in this collection.

NOTE: use the “limit to” function of the catalog to search only CMC materials! For example:

 

  Simple Search   
    
 
 Find This: Limit to:
 Find Results in:  
   Keyword Anywhere
   Author Browse (last name first)
   Title (omit initial articles: a, an, the )
   Call Number Browse
   Subject
   Journal Title (omit initial articles)
   Advanced Keyword
   Date Search (Left Anchored)
   Name Title Browse
 
Set Search Limits 

 

4) Search for and Order Books Via Universal Borrowing

Use this link to search for and order books from other UW schools.

 

 

 
 

Confused?

You are not alone! There are several ways to contact a librarian for help:

email Email Us
form Use the Ask a Librarian Form
Phone Phone: (715) 425-3343
Visit us in person

We're here to help you!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait