Last Updated: Jan 29, 2013
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Comprehensive index to current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from every part of the world. Time span: 1975-current.
- Contemporary Authors
Biographical information on modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters in the award-winning Contemporary Authors series. Sketches typically include personal information, addresses, career history, writings, work in progress, biographical/critical sources and authors' comments and/or informative essays about their lives and work.
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos anytime. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. Films on Demand provides online access to over 6,000 educational videos and video clips across a wide range of academic disciplines.
Here is a list of suggested databases that you can use from any computer with an Internet connection. If you’re unsure which database(s) to use, try one listed below, or go to the Research Help Desk for further assistance.
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,250 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
- America: History and Life
Includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields. Covers 1964 to present.
- Assessible Archive
Contains 19th and 20th century primary material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements.
- Black Drama
Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Includes the immediate experiences of 201 women, as revealed in approximately 38,000 pages of diaries and letters, 1500-1900.
- Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world’s largest library of the printed book on microfilm.
- International Medieval Bibliography
The leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
Full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some dating from the turn of the century. Does not include the current 3-5 years.
- Literature Criticism Online
The Literature Criticism Online Digital Archive includes ten core literature reference series (see listed below). Search them individually, or simultaneously. Includes: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- New York Times Historical Archives
The New York Times Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Articles in the database are available in full text as PDF files.
- Newspaper Source Plus
This database includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romatic Period
Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.
- Elementary School Edition
Book Collection Nonfiction: Elementary School Edition is a research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 1,290 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, civics and more.
- Middle School Edition
Book Collection Nonfiction: Middle School Edition is research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.
- High School Edition
Book Collection Nonfiction: High School Edition is a research database for school and public libraries. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,440 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.