All About ERIC
What is ERIC?
ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center database, contains indexing and abstracts in the field of education, 1967 to present. The database combines material from two sources:
- Journal articles. Includes citations from over 750 journals. Journal articles have identification numbers that begin with an “EJ” (e.g., EJ612193).
- Document citations. Unpublished materials such as research reports, papers presented at conventions, lesson plans and curriculum guides. Document citations have identification numbers that begin with “ED” (e.g., ED406721).
Access to ERIC.
-
Click here to access the ERIC database.
Location of ERIC Materials.
ERIC materials can be obtained:(1) full-text and printable from your computer, (2) on microfiche, or in the journal stacks, or (3) through interlibrary loan.
80% of ERIC documents (ED) dating from 1995 are available full-text through the ERIC online database. Some journal articles (EJ) are also available online. Follow the Full Text link or use the FindIt button.
Microfiche: The ERIC mircofiche collection dates back to 1963, with a small gap in the 1970s, and is arranged numerically by the ED number listed in the ERIC database citation. Microfiche readers/printers are located near the microfiche cabinets. About 5% of ERIC documents with an ED number are not reproduced on microfiche and will not be in our collection. Check with a Reference Librarian for alternative availability.
Journal Stacks: Many ERIC journal articles (EJ) are located in the Library’s journal stacks and the FindIt button links to the UWRF library catalog. Follow it to see years held by library.
Interlibrary Loan: If a document is not available through full-text, or microfiche, it may be available through interlibrary loan. Request forms are located online via the Library’s webpage.
Please visit the Research Help Desk for help locating ERIC materials!!
Confused?
You are not alone! There are several ways to contact a librarian for help:
| Email Us | |
| Use the Ask a Librarian Form | |
| Phone: (715) 425-3343 | |
| Visit us in person |
We're here to help you!
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait