Last Updated: Feb 3, 2012
Here is a list of suggested databases that you can use from any computer with an internet connection. If you’re unsure which database(s) to use, try one listed below, or go to the Research Help Desk for further assistance.
- Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
- Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- America: History and Life
Includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields. Covers 1964 to present.
- Business Source Premier
A full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.
Full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some dating from the turn of the century. Does not include the current 3-5 years.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Full-text access to news, business, legal, and reference information, some dating back to the 1980s.
- New York Times Historical Archives
The New York Times Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Articles in the database are available in full text as PDF files.
- Newspaper Source Plus
includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 601,300 television and radio news transcripts, videos & podcasts.
You are not alone! There are several ways to contact a librarian for help:
We're here to help you!