Online Reference Sources

• American Presidents
• Biographical Dictionary
• Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present
• Biography.com
• FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service
• Internet Genealogy Sites
• University Archives and Area Research Center
• Wisconsin Genealogy Resources at the State Historical Society

• Abebooks.com
• AddALL
• BestBookBuys
• BookFinder.com
• Chegg (rentals)
• Direct Textbook
• FetchBook.Info
• ISBN.nu

Career Exploration

• JobStar--Profession-Specific Salary Surveys
• National Compensation Survey
• O*NET Online
• Occupational Outlook Handbook
• Riley Guide
• Wisconsin Labor Market Information

Job Listings

• America's Job Bank
• DPI Job Search, WI 
• Career Builder
• Indeed
• Job Center of Wisconsin
• Monster.com
• USAJobs
• Wisconsin Department of Employment Relations - Employment Opportunities

• Federal Student Aid
• FinAid! SmartStudent Guide to Financial Aid
• Peterson's Education Supersite
• Study Guides for Assessment Tests
  • ACT
  • GMAT
  • GRE
  • LSAT
  • MCAT
  • SAT
  • TOEFL
• U.S. News.edu
• Wisconsin
  • University of Wisconsin Campuses
  • Wisconsin Technical College System
  • Wisconsin's Private Colleges and Universitie

• Acronym Finder
• Babel Fish
• Catholic Encyclopedia
• Encyclopedia Smithsonian
• Encyclopedia.com
• How Stuff Works
• InfoPlease.com (Information Please Almanac)
• Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
• NetLingo: The Internet Language Dictionary
• OneLook Dictionary Search
• Quoteworld
• Symbols Encyclopedia
• Wikipedia
• Your Dictionary

Phone Numbers, Addresses, E-mail, etc.

• Area Codes: Fone Finder
• Country Code
• International Yellow Pages
• Internet 800 Directory
• Telephone Directories on the Web (international)
• USPS ZIP Code Lookup and Address Information
• UWRF Directory
• Whitepages
• World Addressing Formats

Specialized Directories

• BBB Wise Giving Alliance
• Candid
• Foreign Embassies of Washington, D.C
• Public Records Database Collection
• Schoolbug.org K-12 Directory
• U.S. Embassies and Other Diplomatic Missions

• AMA Online Doctor Finder
• Automobile Buyers Guides
  • Edmunds
  • Kelley Blue Book
• Better Business Bureau
• Calculators Online
• Calendar Zone
• Census.gov
• Currency Converter (OANDA)
• IPUMS
• Quotations Page
• Time.gov
• Weather
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) 
  • Weather.com
  • Weather Underground
• Unit Converter

• Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
• Fulbright Program
• Grants.gov

Directories

• The Infography
• IDMOZ
• Looksmart

Meta-Search Engine

• Metacrawler

Evaluation

• Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
• Country Studies (Library of Congress)
• Geographic Names
• Google Maps
• InfoPlease.com (Information Please Almanac)
• How Far Is It?
• MapQuest
• MSN Maps & Directions
• Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
• Rand McNally
• Old Farmers Almanac
• Time Zones
• World Factbook
• World Flag Database
• World Wide Constitutions

• State of Wisconsin
• University of Wisconsin
  • University of Wisconsin Education Reports and Statistics
• Wisconsin Blue Book
• Wisconsin County Maps
• Wisconsin Department of Tourism
• Wisconsin Town Websites 

• Badgerlink (must be in WI or have a WI public library card to use)
• eLibraryMinnesota (must be in MN or have a MN public library card to use)
• Internet Public Library
• LibrarySpot
• Michigan eLibrary
• RefDesk
• WWW Virtual Library

• Census.gov
• Country at a Glance
• Data.gov
• Finding Data and Statistics (UWM Library)
• InfoPlease.com (Information Please Almanac)
• NationMaster.com
• Statistical Abstract of the United States
• U.S.A. Statistics in Brief

See the library guide Tax Information, General Points for Filing Taxes for more information.

Tax Preparation Software

• TaxACT (free version available)

Tax Forms

• Federal (IRS)
• Wisconsin

Volunteer Tax Assistance

• Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) / Taxpayer Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) (Wisconsin Dept. of Revenue)
• Volunteer Tax Information (IRS)