Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

ESM 485 Seminar in Resource Management

Resources for ESM485

Databases

Some database such as SciFinder or the Congressional Hearing are not searchable in Search@UW  or have special features that are not replicated in Search@UW.  Users can always go search the original database format using the library's Database A-Z or reviewing the database by subject category.

Biological Abstracts

Environment Complete
Web of Science-  see  Cited Reference searching (box below).

Searching Resources Outside of Search at UW (Copy-paste the name of the article that you find from these resources into Search at UW to find it if it's not available from these websites):

AGRIS - Collection of citations of articles (not full text) related to soil, crops, plants, and agricultural science (United Nations)

Agricola- Collection of citations of articles (not full text) related to soil, crops, plants, and agricultural science (US Dept. of Agriculture)

Government Information

Environmental Impact Statements: Digests  EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.


Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (July 1976-) - Provides bibliographic information (citations) for publications of the Federal Government.

Congressional Hearing and Serial Set  Provides comprehensive coverage of the US Congress. Hearings often contain testimony from experts in specific scientific fields. 

Technical
 

National Service Center for Environmental Publications - Provides access to EPA technical and public information.

NTIS - Use this page to locate and order government publications and other products issued by NTIS since 1990.

Databases @ the Water Quality Information Center (USDA)- Use this page to link to online databases related to water and agriculture. These databases contain such information as bibliographic citations, current research, streamflow data, species information and chemical and toxicology data.


 

Google Scholar

If you are using Google Scholar for research from off campus go to the library's Databases A-Z find  Google Scholar and sign in.

This sounds silly, but this permits you to access all of the UWRF licensed full-text.  Google Scholar will try to send you to  publisher’s web sites which often seeks payment. 

Other Google search tips

  •        bind exact phrases in quotes (use this technique in Search@UW too)  
                      "to be or not to be"  will retrieve far fewer and more relevant search results than  to be or not to be
  •         use the drop down menu for other ways to focus you search
    •    this menu is under the wheel in regular Google