Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Legal Resources

Legal Resources in the Chalmer Davee Library University of Wisconsin River Falls


United States law is divided into three types, which parallel the three branches of government: Statutory Law, or the laws passed by the legislative branch; Administrative Law, or the rules and regulations created and enforced by the executive branch; and Case Law, the interpretations of statutory and executive law given by the judicial system. These same structures apply at the state level. And each branch of government publishes its portion of the law separately.