Research Guides: Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies: Online Journal Article Databases

Online Journal Article Databases

For the most comprehensive research chose Search@UW, but you may aslo use the databases individually. If you need help selecting or searching the databases, please contact the Research Help Desk.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that includes articles from over 100 journals and magazines devoted to women’s issues, plus newsletters, regional materials, reports and conference proceedings. Includes some coverage back to the mid-1970’s.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacob This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. Also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in rare book rooms.
Lily (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
The Lily, the first newspaper for women, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). It was published in Seneca Falls, New York. It began as a temperance journal for “home distribution” among members of the Seneca Falls Ladies Temperance Society, which had formed in 1848. The Lily published its final issue December 15, 1856.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Diaries, biographies, and correspondence from U.S. and Canadian women through 1950.

Feminist Reivew
An open access repository of digitized contents pages of 150 academic journals and pop culture magazines for researchers and scholars to view what is currently being published in the fields of Feminism, Gender and Women's Studies, Sexuality Studies, and LGBTQIA+ studies.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
This is the largest collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it brings the personal experiences of nearly 500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1963-present Provides access to the worldwide findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Features journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association paper abstracts; film, and software review citations.