Journalism

A research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.

Contains full-text articles and book reviews published in over 3,400 scholarly publications across many academic areas of study, including journalism.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states--including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. The publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.

Contains 19th and 20th century primary material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements.

Provides analysis of issues in the news media, covering a variety of topics. Also offers an overview, chronology, and bibliography for each issue as well as a pro/con section that represents opposing points of view.

Contains full-text articles published in Social Science and Humanities-related journals.

Wisconsin Newspaper Asociation's Wisconsin Newpapers Digital Research Site provides access to its 235 daily and weeky member-newspapers. Each edition is covered cover to cover in a searchable PDF. Coverage: from April 2005 with a two month embargo period.