The purpose of a citation is to tell someone else where you found a certain piece of information. Archival materials are unique and the original can only be found in one place. Even published materials in special collections can be hard to find in more than one repository, so a good citation to the copy you used is important. Citations for archival materials and rare or unusual published materials should make it clear not only what the source is, but also where, exactly, it can be found.
Different style manuals cite materials slightly differently. Find out from your professor—or editor if you are writing for publication—which manual you should follow. They are all good at providing examples of how to cite books, journal/magazine articles, newspaper articles, electronic resources, and "government documents" (published government materials, like the Congressional Record and the Serial Set), but not all style manuals provide good examples for archival/manuscript materials.
If you want to try an online citation generator, try out Citation Machine, which has generators for APA, MLA, Chicago, and some other less-known guides. You will need to click on "Other" to find archival materials like court cases, letters, manuscripts, photographs, etc.
Following are some examples of actual materials from the UWRF University Archives and Area Research Center.
Manuscript/Archival Material |
|
|
APA |
Collection of Letters from an Archives: Cairns, Gertrude M. (1845-1958). Correspondence. Gertrude M. Cairns Papers (River Falls Mss. I). University of Wisconsin-River, University Archives and Area Research Center, River Falls, WI. |
|
Single Letter from an Archives: Martindale, E. (1886, June 7). [Letter to G. W. Cairns]. Gertrude M. Cairns Papers (River Falls Mss. I, Box 4, Folder 1). University of Wisconsin-River Falls, University Archives and Area Research Center, River Falls, WI. |
|
|
In-Text Citation of Individual Letter: (Cairns, Gertrude M., 1845-1958, E. Martindale to G. W. Cairns, June 7, 1886). |
|
|
ASA |
"Martindale, E. Letter to G. W. Cairns." 1886. June 7. Folder 1, Box 4, River Falls Mss I, Gertrude M. Cairns Papers, University Archives and Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
|
Chicago/ |
Martindale, E. letter to G. W. Cairns. 1886. June 7. Folder 1, Box 4, River Falls Mss I, Gertrude M. Cairns Papers, University Archives and Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
|
MLA |
"Martindale, E. Letter to G. W. Cairns" 7 June 1886. Folder 1, Box 4, River Falls Mss I, Gertrude M. Cairns Papers, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
Newspaper Articles |
||
|
APA |
Bauer, P. (2011, January 12). Mugs filled with meaning and memories. Inter-County Leader, p. B1. |
|
|
ASA |
Bauer, Priscilla. 2011. "Mugs Filled with Meaning and Memories." Inter-County Leader, January 12, pp. B1. |
|
|
Chicago/ |
F |
Priscilla Bauer, "Mugs Filled with Meaning and Memories," Inter-County Leader (Frederic, WI), January 12, 2011. |
|
Chicago/ |
B |
Bauer, Priscilla. 2011. "Mugs Filled with Meaning and Memories." Inter-County Leader (Frederic, WI), January 12, 2011, sec. B. |
|
MLA |
Bauer, Priscilla. "Mugs Filled with Meaning and Memories." Inter-County Leader, 12 Jan. 2011: B1. Print. |
Obituaries on Microfilm |
|
|
APA |
Harry L. Currier obituary. (1900, February 1). River Falls Journal, p. 4. Reel 13, River Falls Micro 108, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
|
ASA |
"Harry L. Currier Obituary." 1900. River Falls Journal, February 1, pp. 4. Reel 13, River Falls Micro 108, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
|
Chicago/ |
Harry L. Currier obituary. 1900. River Falls Journal, February 1, 4. Reel 13, River Falls Micro 108, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
|
MLA |
"Harry L. Currier Obituary." River Falls Journal, 1 Feb. 1900: 4. Reel 13, River Falls Micro 108, Reel 13, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
Published Maps/Atlases/Plat Books |
|
|
APA |
Cloud Cartographics, Inc. (2003). Pierce County, WI 2003 county land atlas & plat book. St. Cloud, MN: Cloud Cartographics, Inc. |
|
ASA |
Cloud Cartographics, Inc. 2003. Pierce County, WI 2003 County Land Atlas & Plat Book. St. Cloud, MN: Cloud Cartographics, Inc. |
|
Chicago/ |
Cloud Cartographics, Inc. 2003. Pierce County, WI 2003 county land atlas & plat book. St. Cloud, MN: Cloud Cartographics, Inc. |
|
MLA |
Cloud Cartographics, Inc. Pierce County, WI 2003 County Land Atlas & Plat Book. St. Cloud, MN: Cloud Cartographics, Inc., 2003. Print. |
Vertical Files |
|
|
APA |
Football Banquet program. (1931, December 14). Folder St. Croix County-Hudson-High School-Sports, Local History Vertical File, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
|
ASA |
"Football Banquet program." 1931. December 14, Folder St. Croix County-Hudson-High School-Sports, Local History Vertical File, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
|
Chicago/ |
Football Banquet program. 1931. December 14. Folder St. Croix County-Hudson-High School-Sports, Local History Vertical File, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |
|
MLA |
"Football Banquet program." 14 Dec. 1931. Print. Folder St. Croix County-Hudson-High School-Sports, Local History Vertical File, University Archives & Area Research Center, University of Wisconsin-River Falls. |