Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Online Reference Sources

Open Access Databases

The majority of the library's databases are only available to UWRF students, faculty, staff and in-library users. However, these titles may be freely accessed by the general public.

Current UWRF-affiliated researchers should take full advantage of the many subscription-based databases on the Databases A-Z page.

AGRICOLA 
1970-present; citations to journal articles, books (15th century to present), and audiovisuals about food, nutrition, and most aspects of the agricultural sciences.
ASCE [American Society of Civil Engineers] CE Database
1970-present; indexes all of the American Society of Civil Engineers journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters. Full text is available from 30 civil engineering journals.
BadgerLink 
Dates vary; access to information resources for Wisconsin residents in cooperation with the state's public, school, academic, and special libraries. Includes access to over 6,000 magazines, newsletters and newspapers. Many of the titles are in full-text. Note: You must be in WI or use a WI Library card to access this resource.
BioMed Central 
1999 - present (varies); provides a collection of free, open access, mostly peer reviewed research articles from over 100 biomedical, medicine, health, biology and biotechnology related online journals. (Note: For a few journals, only the research content is free.)
Bizjournals.com 
Dates vary; browse or search within selective full text from 42 metropolitan business newspapers, including The Business Journal Serving Greater Milwaukee.
BMC Chemistry 
(Formally Chemistry Central). Dates vary; peer-reviewed open access research articles in chemistry published by, or in cooperation with, BioMed Central.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 
1976-present; The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) indexes electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Direct links are provided to those publications that are available online.
Census.gov
The Census Bureau provides the primary source for the U.S. Census records.
Census Data (1990) 
1990 Census of Population & Housing. Summary tape files are available online. 
ClinicalTrials.gov 
Originated in 2000; provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to regularly updated information on thousands of federally and privately supported clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), through its National Library of Medicine (NLM), has developed this site in collaboration with all NIH Institutes and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
Cold Regions Bibliography (CRREL) 
Contains over 220,000 bibliographic records on Antarctica, cold regions science and technology.
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies 
Dates vary; provides access to 1,400 bibliographies of literature in computer science. The collection contains more than 1.4 million references to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports; many records include abstracts and links to full-text documents; updated monthly.
DIRLINE - Directory of [Health] Information Resources Online 
Dates vary; National Library of Medicine's online database containing location and descriptive information on over 8,000 information resources including organizations, research resources, projects, and databases concerned with health and biomedicine.
Google Scholar 
Dates vary; records and citations from Google's Web index calculated to be scholarly. Although useful for most topics, it still contains a small subset of available publications; other databases on this page will have additional items on your topic.
     Note: Sign in to your UWRF account for better availability of items. 
HighWire Press 
1948-present; indexing and selected full text to over 800 journals in the life sciences, medicine, physical and social sciences.
Index Translationum 
Current; UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) publishes a free, web-accessible database of literature in translation. Use this resource to identify translated works, then look in Search@UW for availability. The database can be searched by original language, target language, translator, keyword and other options. 
Information Bridge [U. S. Department of Energy] 
1995-present; over 58,000 full-text DOE research and development reports. Reports included in the database cover a wide variety of subjects in the sciences, including physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, and renewable energy.
IngentaConnect [Formerly Carl Uncover] 
Free abstracting service covering over 29,000 scholarly journals in many academic fields including engineering, library science, medicine, science, and technology. 
MedlinePlus 
Originated in 1998; National Library of Medicine's selective list of authoritative health information sources from the National Institutes of Health and other government and professional organizations in the U.S. Updated nightly, it has over 4,000 articles on various diseases, symptoms, drugs and procedures, as well as interactive health tutorials, research news, local resources, directories of hospitals and physicians, clinical trials and links to MEDLINE for journal citations.
PubMed
Comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Tutorial
National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information 
Dates vary; includes databases, research and current general information about substance abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment policies, programs, and practices. Also includes the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) 
1972-present; citations and abstracts to federal, state, and local government documents, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research in the field of criminal justice. Some publications are available in full text.
National Transportation Library 
Formerly TRIS. Provides over 500,000 bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics 
Present; data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Over 600 tables.
Wikipedia 
Current; a community-built encyclopedia with over 2,000,000 articles. Note that because articles can be "vandalized," information on Wikipedia is not always accurate. As with other encyclopedias, however, it is sometimes a good starting point in the research process.
World Factbook 
Current; country profiles for each nation, including history, people, government, economy, military, industry, flags, and maps.