Research Guides: Plant Sciences: Selected Web Sites

Select Web Sites

Encyclopedia of Life
Encyclopedia of Life provides access to information, including in many cases images, maps and video about over 700,000 species.
Angiosperm Phylogeny Website
Provides a detailed summary of the relationships among all land plants, with an extensive list of cited references.
Plants and Crops
US Department of Agriculture-offers access to information on topics including plant breeding, genetics, forestry, diseases and pests.
Envirolink Library
The EnviroLink Network is a non-profit organization which has been providing access to thousands of online environmental resources since 1991
Major World Crop Areas and Climate Profiles
Printable PDF version of world crop and climate profiles from the USDA.
NatureServe
Website of a non-profit conservation organization that strives to provide the scientific basis for effective conservation action.
New CROP
This site from Purdue University provides information on new and specialty crop profiles.
Online Guide to Plant Disease Control
Contains the alphabetical (A to Z) text sections of the 2009 Pacific Northwest Plant Disease Management Handbook.
Plants Database--USDA
Information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Science.gov
Searches over 40 databases and over 2000 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
USDA National Agricultural Library
"One of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections."
USGS Ecosystems
Information relating to management and conservation of the nation's biological resources.