Local History and Genealogy Resources

Burnett, Pierce, Polk, and St. Croix Counties cemetery indexes, created circa 1975-2000.

• You must visit the archives reading room in person to use this resource.
• Files are arranged alphabetically by county name, thereunder in two sections: alphabetically by name of town/city or cemetery and by surname of the deceased.
• The indexes were created over a number of years by a number of individuals, mainly from the St. Croix Valley Genealogical Society (SCVGS). The indexes were made from visiting the cemeteries and transcribing burial markers.
• Some indexed items contain additional information as gleaned from the marker but most contain name of individual and related dates.
• Find A Grave has many of these cemeteries indexed as well, and they may also have photos
• Wisconsin Genealogy - USGenWeb Project lists each county and cemetery inscriptions there under.

• Bethlehem Lutheran Cemetery Association, Eidsvold, records, 1938-1980.

  • Photocopied records of the association including treasurer's records, 1938-1980; scattered minutes of association meetings, 1965-1980; and listings of payments to the cemetery association's perpetual fund.

• Greenwood Cemetery Association, River Falls, Wisconsin, records, 1876-1966.
  • Records of a cemetery on River Falls' north side including minute books (1876-1955), financial records, indexed records of burials and grave owners, burial permits, and plat maps.
  • Finding aid.
• Greenwood Valley Cemetery Association records (Pierce County), 1863-1946.
  • Records of the association including a plat map, lists of lot owners and of perpetual care lots, burial permits, legal documents such as an 1863 property deed, and financial records. The cemetery, also known as the Glass Valley Cemetery, is located in Pierce County, Wisconsin, Town of River Falls, which assumed responsibility for the cemetery circa 1946.
• Poplar Hill Cemetery Association records, Rock Elm Township (Pierce County) 1874-1938.

  • Record books of the cemetery in Rock Elm township, including minutes, 1874-1933, treasurer's records, 1879-1938, and lot ownership records.

• Rush River Lutheran Parish records (Pierce and St. Croix Counties), 1867-1983.
  • Records of two congregations which share a pastor and of their predecessors which originally served Norwegian settlers. Included are records of congregations known at various times as Our Savior's Lutheran Church, South Rush River Church, Martell Lutheran Church, North Prairie Church, and Rush River Lutheran Church. Records include minutes, financial records, histories, cemetery records, ladies aid records, and other items.
  • Finding aid.
• Schwalen Settlement Cemetery Association records (Town of Troy, St. Croix County), 1871-1990.
  • Photocopied records of the Association (known in recent years as the German Settlement Cemetery Association), including minutes, the constitution, financial records, and a register of burials. The cemetery, also known as the German Settlement Cemetery, is located in the Town of Troy, St. Croix County, Wisconsin.
• St. Bridget's Catholic Church records, River Falls, Wisconsin, records, 1890-1950.
  • Records of the first Catholic Church in the River Falls area consisting primarily of financial records  and of cemetery burial permits (1932-1950).
  • Finding aid
• Tombstone Inscriptions (Sacred Heart Cemetery, Burnett County), 1850-1993.

  • Inscriptions copied by Judy Schultz in 1993 from tombstones in Sacred Heart Cemetery, located on County Highway H in Burnett County, Wis. Information dates 1850-1993 and includes the names of the interred; birth and death dates; rank, service branch, unit, and war (for veterans); and notes on special markings or decorations. There is also a name index.

• War Memorial Cemetery directory (Clear Lake, Polk County), undated.
  • Typewritten partial directory of the War Memorial Cemetery, Clear Lake, Wisconsin, listing the person, the war in which he participated, the year of his death, and the location of his grave.

• Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window

  Ancestor search and genealogical information from census records, historical maps, and more.

• Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers This link opens in a new window

  Wisconsin newspapers from 2005 to 60 days ago.

• Newspaper Archive- Wisconsin Collection This link opens in a new window

  Subjects covered include genealogy, history, and culture. Contains Wisconsin newspaper coverage.

• Find a Grave - Millions of Cemetery Records

• USGenWeb Project