It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This publication is designed to help you find materials in the library on the topic of geology. If you have any problems locating the resources or using them, please ask a Research Help Desk staff member for assistance.
Some database are not searchable* in Search@UW or have special features that are not replicated in Search@UW. Users can search the orignal database format using the library's Database A-Z.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management* - This multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
GeoRef - This database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. GeoRef covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Web of Science/Science Citation Index - This multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covers the journal literature of the sciences. It provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings. Overcome information overload and focus on essential data from over 6,650 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines.
Other databases that may be of use:
Academic Search Complete - Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests* - This database provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates.
Films on Demand* is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos anytime. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. Films on Demand provides online access to over 6,000 educational videos and video clips across a wide range of academic disciplines.
General Science Full Text - General Science Full Text. provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
ScienceDirect - ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
JSTOR - JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The content on JSTOR includes the back runs of more than 1,500 academic journals to current journal issues, primary source materials and books.