Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

English 266: Business Writing

A guide for students enrolled in English 266

Websites

Recommended Websites

BBB: Better Business Bureau BBB system promotes the use of voluntary self-regulation and consumer education to solve the majority of marketplace problems.

Bizjournals American City Business Journals, websites for their 41 print business journals.

Bureau of Labor Statistics  U.S. Dept. of Labor. The bureau collects, processes, analyzes, and publishes economic and statistical data.

Business.com Business.com is a business-focused search engine and directory which contains more than 400,000 listings within 65,000 industry, product and service subcategories.

CEO Express Internet gateway.

CIA World Factbook  Provides general information about specific countries in the world, including sections on geography, demographics, economics, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues.

Current Industrial Reports U.S. Census Bureau, Manufacturing & Construction div. The CIR program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.

Economic census U.S. Census Bureau. The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Statistical data on the U.S. economy from the national to the local level, organized primarily by business or industrial unit.

Economic Research - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Economic Research and Education resources created by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Economic time-series statistics, full-text economic publications, GIS applications, educational materials. Individually branded resources include: ALFRED (ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data) CASSIDI (Competitive Analysis and Structure Source Instrument for Depository Institutions) ECON DISC (Data and Information Service Center) FRASER (Federal …

Energy Information Administration Country Analysis Briefs This web site provides energy situation overviews for countries of current interest

Financial Accounting Standards Board Web Site The Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) has long served as the designated organization in the private sector for establishing standards of financial accounting and reporting. The mission of FASB is to establish and improve standards of financial accounting and reporting for the guidance and education of the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of financial information.

Finding funders Contains information on foundations which fund research, with links to their websites.

Google Scholar Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. 

Newsletter access Online directory of newsletters covering business, investments, health, advertising, marketing and other topics.

Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

Small Business Administration Provides links to state economic profiles, data on small businesses, regulatory information, and demographics of small business owners. Site calls itself "The voice of Small Business in the Federal Government and the source for small business statistics."

Sample Size Calculator This calculator gives you the number for any given population size and desired confidence level. A reverse calculator lets you enter characteristics of an existing survey and gives the confidence interval (plus-or-minus number) to apply to the results. This site, sponsored by a survey software company, also gives clear explanations of statistical significance, survey design, and related concepts

Thomas Register of American ManufacturersThomasNet is an industrial search engine that provides one source for finding an exact product, service, or supplier. ThomasNet also gives buyers direct access to the detailed information they need to make a purchasing or specifying decision, including line-item product details, CAD drawings, and more. For industrial suppliers, ThomasNet is a leading provider of Internet marketing solutions. The company helps suppliers grow their business …

TradePub.com Contains links to subscriptions for free trade publications.

U.S. Census Bureau Home page of the U.S. Census Bureau. This site provides state population profiles based on the latest census figures, census maps, and information about the Census Bureau.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission The primary mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is to protect investors and maintain the integrity of the securities markets. The SEC requires public companies to disclose meaningful financial and other information to the public, which provides a common pool of knowledge for all investors to use to judge for themselves if a company's securities are a good investment.

Yahoo! Finance Internet site providing information, opinion and data about business and industry related topics, including investing, news, and personal finance.