Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Music

Musical Monuments

Music: specific print indices

Reference Books

The Garland encyclopedia of world music
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML100 .G16 1998, v.1-9.

The New Harvard dictionary of music
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML100 .N485 1986

The New Grove dictionary of American music
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML101.U6 N48 1986

The New Grove dictionary of jazz
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML102.J3 N48 2002, v.1-3.

Baker’s biographical dictionary of musicians
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML105 .B16 1984, 1992
The international cyclopedia of music and musicians
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML100 .T47 1946

The Oxford companion to the American musical : theatre, film, and television
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML102.M88 H593 2008

Dictionary of musical terms. An English translation of Terminorum musicae diffinitorium together with the Latin text
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML108 .T513

Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music : a guide to their contents
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML113 .H52 1980

Performance practice; a bibliography
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML128.L3 V55 1971

A dictionary of opera and song themes : including cantatas, oratorios, lieder, and art songs = originally published as A dictionary of vocal themes
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML128.V7 B3 1976

Women in music : an anthology of source readings from the Middle Ages to the present
Main Stacks (Upper Level) ML82 .W65 1982