Research Guides: Communication and Media Studies: Communication and Media Studies Databases

Search@UW

For the most comprehensive research chose Search@UW, but you may also use the databases individually.

Top Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present.

Newspaper Databases

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922) incl. Early Amer. Newspapers Series I - VII This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
New York Times (Historical:1851-2016) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Wall Street Journal (Historical: 1889-2003) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Keyword searchable, it includes the complete paper cover-to-cover with full page and article images.
Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research This link opens in a new window
Wisconsin Newspaper Association's Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site provides access to its 235 daily and weekly member-newspapers.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Contains 19th and 20th century primary material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields. Covers 1964 to present.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more.
Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
Streaming media on a wide range of subjects.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
An archive of over 10,000 datasets from polls conducted by survey research organizations, both in the US and internationally. Major survey research organizations represented in Roper Center collections include The Gallup Organization, Louis Harris and Associates, the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago, media organizations, and others. Most of the datasets are national adult samples, but some cover special groups, as well.