Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Access Library Guide
UWRF Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging (DIB)
How to Get Library Assistance Fall 2020
There are many ways you can get library assistance:
- Fill out an Ask a Librarian Form
- Set up a research appointment
- Call the library at 715-425-3321
- Ask for help at the front desk in the library*
*Virtual reference sessions with librarians are encouraged. Face-to-face sessions will be limited to 15 minutes or less.
Use AND to indicate words that must be somewhere in the source
- Example: diversity AND inclusion
Use OR to indicate synonyms where only one of the words must appear in the source
- Example: academics OR education
Use quotation marks for terms that are more than one word long
Need Help Finding Library Resources?
Check out the library tutorials page for videos on how to conduct research using the library's resources, including:
- Using Search@UW, the library's discovery tool
- Using subject-specific databases
- Research tips
Selection of Books Available at UWRF
Call Number: Curriculum Materials Collection E98.W8 N68 2017
Whether looking back to a troubled past or welcoming a hopeful future, the powerful voices of Indigenous women across North America resound in this book. In the same style as the best-selling Dreaming in Indian, #Not Your Princess presents an eclectic collection of poems, essays, interviews, and art that combine to express the experience of being a Native woman.
Diversity Explosion by
Call Number: Main Collection E184.A1 F739 2015
"Through a compelling narrative and eye-catching charts and maps, eminent demographer William H. Frey interprets and expounds on the dramatic growth of minority populations in the United States. He finds that without these expanding groups, America could face a bleak future: this new generation of young minorities, who are having children at a faster rate than whites, is infusing our aging labor force with vitality and innovation. Diversity Explosion shares the good news about diversity in the coming decades, and the more globalized, multiracial country that U.S. is becoming"--Publisher information.
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered? by
Call Number: Main Collection E185.86 .A28 2017
In Have Black Lives Ever Mattered? Mumia gives voice to the many people of color who have fallen to police bullets or racist abuse, and offers the post-Ferguson generation advice on how to address police abuse in the United States. This collection of his radio commentaries on the topic features an in-depth essay written especially for this book to examine the history of policing in America, with its origins in the white slave patrols of the antebellum South and an explicit mission to terrorize the country's Black population.
Trans* in College by
This is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders.
Trans People in Higher Education by
Call Number: New Items LC2574.6 .T73 2019
Trans People in Higher Education is the first book about trans college students, faculty, and staff, and shows that, despite a generally improving environment, trans people continue to face widespread interpersonal and institutional opposition on campuses across the country. This anthology brings together personal narratives and original research, giving readers both individual and large-scale perspectives and providing unprecedented insight into the experiences of trans people in higher education.
The Good Immigrant by
Call Number: Main Collection E184.A1 G58 2019
Presents essays by first- and second-generation immigrant writers on the realities of immigration, multiculturalism, and marginalization in an increasingly divided America.
A Good Time for the Truth by
Call Number: Main Collection F615.A1 G66 2016
Minnesota communities struggle with some of the nation's worst racial disparities. In this provocative collection, sixteen of Minnesota's best writers provide a range of perspectives on what it is like to live as a person of color in Minnesota.
Written on the Body by
Call Number: New Items HV6556 .W77 2018
"An anthology of powerfully honest and intimate letters written by trans and non-binary survivors of sexual violence, offering support and guidance to fellow survivors with additional resources for allies and professionals."--Publisher website.
This guide is meant to be a brief overview of resources available on the topics of diversity, inclusion, and belonging. Please look in Search@UW or ask a librarian for assistance if you wish to locate additional resources.