It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English 200 Folk Tale Project Resources: Home
This guide is to help students in Dr. Lissa Schneider-Rebozo's English 200 class with their Folk Tale projects.
Includes over 1,600 folktales & fairy tales from around the world.
How to Put a Hold on a Physical Item in the Library Fall 2020
For the health and safety of our library staff and patrons, library patrons may not take library materials off the shelves. Instead, patrons must request for physical items to be placed on hold for them in advance. Once items are ready, they will be placed on the hold shelf in the library or patrons can arrange for curbside pickup. View the handout or video below for how to place a hold on physical library materials.
If you are having trouble with putting an item on hold email us at email@example.com or call us at 715-425-3321.
Check out the library tutorials page for videos on how to conduct research using the library's resources, including:
- Using Search@UW, the library's discovery tool
- Using subject-specific databases
- Research tips
As plague ravages the overcrowded Earth, observed by a ruthless lunar people, Cinder, a gifted mechanic and cyborg, becomes involved with handsome Prince Kai and must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect the world in this futuristic take on the Cinderella story.
A multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife. The diverse range of articles covers specific artifacts, rituals, ceremonies, biblical figures, and legends-in addition to broad topics such as humor, folk dance, costumes, and folk narratives.
Call Number: Main Collection GR550 .A77 2004. Also available as an Electronic Book.
This reference is a convenient introduction to folk and fairy tales for students and general readers. Written by a leading authority, this handbook offers a broad examination of folk and fairy tales as a folklore type. It looks at tales from around the world and from diverse cultures. The volume defines and classifies folk and fairy tales and analyzes a number of examples.
From anecdotes, boasts, and children's stories to urban tall tales, vampires, and Xerox-lore, this superb scholarly dictionary illuminates the historical and contemporary form, figures, and fields of folklore. In over 240 in-depth articles by leading scholars, basic cultural concepts, academic theories and methodologies, supernatural creatures and stereotypical characters are discussed with regard to the field of folklore.
Call Number: AV Room - DVD/VHS PN1995.9.A53 P756 2010
New Orleans. Arrogant, carefree Prince Naveen and hardworking waitress Tiana cross paths. Prince Naveen is transformed into a frog by a conniving voodoo magician. Tiana follows suit when she decides to kiss the amphibian royalty. With the help of a trumpet-playing alligator, a Cajun firefly, and an old blind lady who lives in a boat in a tree, Naveen and Tiana must race to break the spell and fulfill their dreams.
Raven, the trickster, wants to give people the gift of light. But can he find out where Sky Chief keeps it? And if he does, will he be able to escape without being discovered? His dream seems impossible, but if anyone can find a way to bring light to the world, wise and clever Raven can!
Sandra L. Beckett presents over fifty notable modern retellings, only two of which have appeared previously in English. The tales include works published in twenty-four countries and sixteen languages, in texts that span more than a century, but with the majority written in the last fifty years. They include retellings for children, adolescents, and adults, as well as crossover works intended for an audience of all ages.
How to Get Library Assistance Fall 2020
There are many ways you can get library assistance:
This is a great database for research in a lot of different areas, including English Literature. For this project, this database could be useful in helping you find scholarly articles about folk tales.
This database could be useful in helping you find different versions of folk tales for your projects. Note: it does not link to the full text versions, so you will have to check Search@UW to see if the library has the items or if you can get them through resource sharing.