Research Guides: POLS/INTS 480 Senior Seminar: Beginning your search

Overview of Search@UW

Search@UW is the library's go-to search tool where you can find print and electronic materials including; databases, articles, books, videos, primary resources, and much more. You can also use Search@UW to find and request library materials located at other UW libraries.

For additional guidance on starting your search check out this tutorial video.

Databases

Some databases are not searchable in Search@UW or have special features that are not replicated in Search@UW.

Users can always go search for the original database format using the library's Browse Databases. Here you can limit the resource display by subject, database or resource type, and vendor.

Legislative Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. It includes only documents related to the passage of a law, so hearings, reports, bills, etc.,
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Data Planet simplifies the data research process for everyone by providing a single tool for users to access authoritative and timely datasets from across the globe.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD publishes its recommendations, analysis and data on OECD iLibrary to help inform policy makers, researchers and analysts to implement the best possible responses in their countries. OECD iLibrary’s Books, Papers, and Statistical content provide the foundation for international planning and research projects delivered on an award-winning platform following solid and reliable standards.
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest® Congressional allows you to explore Congress in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research. You can perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Access material such as cases, statutes, regulations, legislative materials, and more to gain a better understanding of your legal issue. Get up to speed in new areas of the law or revisit familiar ones with encyclopedias, journals, law reviews, and more.

Other websites

American Presidency Project
Annotated Bibliographies

Congress.gov - search current legislative activities