Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Search@UW: Library Resources

Explains what Search@UW is and how to use it

How to use Search@UW

What am I searching with Search@UW?

  • A vast collection of materials from UWRF and all of the UW Libraries – millions of books, e-books, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more.
  • Full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
  • A growing collection of digital materials from MINDS@UW, the UW System’s institutional repository, and the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.  

How do I search?

  • Enter the keywords for your topic in the search box. You will quickly see a list of results that matches your keywords.  You can then use the "Refine My Results" facets found on the left hand side of the screen after you do a search. For example, there are facets for limiting to Peer Reviewed (scholarly) articles or Full-Text articles. There are additional facets for Resource Type (article, book, etc.), Topic, Date, Author, Language, and more.
  • Click on the next tabs for more detailed information, along with tips and tricks.

What if I am looking for something more specific?

  • To search a more specialized database, choose one from UWRF’s Databases A-Z list. You can narrow down the databases by subject area and type at the top of the screen.
  • To search for a specific journal, use Browzine.You can browse by subject area or type the name of a specific journal into the search box.

How to Get Library Assistance

There are many ways you can get library assistance:

  1. Fill out an Ask a Librarian Form
  2. Set up a research appointment 
  3. Call the library at 715-425-3321
  4. Ask for help at the front desk in the library