Research Tools

Zotero is an open-source citation manager (like RefWorks or End Note). You can organize your citations directly from your browser, format them based on a chosen citation style, and integrate citations directly into Google Drive or Microsoft Word documents! You will continue to have access to your citations after you graduate or change employment.

Since it is an open-source product, the software is not owned or managed by the university. Library staff cannot provide help with Zotero installations or provide technical support for this resource. There are many tutorial guides from other universities and YouTube tutorials available via an internet browser search.

Use the links below to get started.

There are many functions and tools within Zotero that can assist you in organizing your references. This is a basic guide to help get you started. For more detailed information visit the Zotero website. quick_start_guide [Zotero Documentation]

Add Items to your library

There are many ways to add a resource item to your Zotero Library. 

1. Enter information on your references using the (+ plus icon) to manually enter information. Or import the information by selecting the wand icon, and look up a resource using identifiers (ISBN, DOI, PMID, etc.) The reference citation information will automatically be generated.

Note: If entering manually, there are many different item types to choose from, to help properly cite your resources. (Scores, Journal Article, Data set, Video recording, etc.)

2. Add a digital item – Click and drag items like a PDF, into your Zotero Library. The citation information will automatically populate. You can then view the PDF in Zotero, where you can add notes, highlight passages, and add tags.

3. Create “collections” for your research topics or papers. Then click and drag references from the library to add to a collection.

Add Notes to your references in the Item Pane, as a stand-alone note, or notes within a reference item. From the Item Pane, (if not visible, select View from the main toolbar, then Layout, and Item Pane, to view.)

Add Tags to help organize resources and make it easier to filter searches.

In the Item Pane, select your resource, select Tags, and Add. (Note: try to be consistent with the tag name) If a reference item was added using an identifier, tags may have been auto-populated. You can easily delete or add additional tags.

Tags in collections will show up in the bottom left corner. Click on them to view all the items tagged with that word.

To create a note for in-text citations 

1. Right-click on the item, and select “Create Bibliography from Collection...”
2. Select the Citation Style from the list.
3. Output Mode: select “Notes”
4. Output Method: select your preferred method, and click the “OK” button

To create your Bibliography, select the “collection” for the paper you wish to cite.

1. Right-click on the collection, and select “Create Bibliography from Collection...”
2. Select the Citation Style from the list.
3. Output Mode: select “Bibliography”
4. Output Method: select your preferred method, and click the “OK” button

Utilize the search bar at the top to search for your references.

Share your references, right-click on the collection or library, and click “Export Collection…” select the format and click OK.

Final steps, always check the final citation for accuracy.

Looking for more? Check out these recommended tutorials

How To Use Zotero (A Complete Beginner's Guide)

About Zotero - Zotero: Self-Guided Tutorial from the University of Montevallo

Video Tutorials from Harvard Libraries