How to Search AToM

Welcome to UWRF Access to Memory

AToM stands for Access to Memory. It is a web-based, open-source application for standards-based archival description and access in a digital archive environment.

AToM enables us to share information about our collections, similar to Search@UW. AToM also allows us to add more detailed information about our collection's contents and to provide access to digital materials. 

The UWRF AToM Repository is set up in a hierarchical structure, but all levels are searchable using the Global Search Box at the top.

There are two Institutions that reflect our two major collecting areas.

University Archives: Records of permanent and historical value of the campus.

Area Research Center: Local Government records and Manuscript collections

Each Institution then has its own record collections also called series. Collections in each institution can be browsed using the tree view on the left page.  

Use the global search bar at the top of the page. Begin with a keyword, or phrase using quotation marks, or even a name. Keep it simple to start with.

A list of results will appear, Atom will even tell you how many results have appeared. Here is where you can select a collection to learn more about or continue to narrow down the search results. 

1. Click on the top blue text, and you will enter that record.

   1. Review the title, dates, scope and content in the record, if it is something you are interested in taking a look at, see how to request a record.

2. Narrow down your search results.

Use the filters on the left-hand side of the screen. (Suggested)

• • • Part of – select a specific collection

    • Archival Institution

      • University or Local Area collections

    • Creator – individual or entity responsible for creating the collection

    • Place – select a city, township, village, or county.

    • Level of description

      • Collection

      • Item - If you are looking for digital items

To search within a collection, use the Quick search tab where the tree view inventory is located on the left side of the screen. 

A list of matches will appear below. select an item to review or click Browse all descriptions at the bottom of the list.

Contact the Archives at Archives@uwrf.edu, or if in-person, notify an Archives staff member for item retrieval. 

For many collections, you can simply use the Reference Code, which can be found at the top of a collection page

• UWRF Series 95- 18. F. 5.1 
  
• Or locate the Physical Storage note at the bottom right of the record.