Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Legal Resources

Legal Resources in the Chalmer Davee Library University of Wisconsin River Falls

Federal

United States Courts Opinions

United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) collection is a project between the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for this earlier time period. Once an opinion is located, all associated opinions within the same case can be accessed from the opinion

 

United States Reports, [print resource]  GOV DOC/FED JU 6.8:  
covers 1963 to current 
Supreme Court Opinions, 2010 to the present
Bound Volumes 502 (1991) - [very large PDF files]

Information About Opinions

Cases Argued and Decided in the Supreme Court of the United States, 1794-1881 
Periodicals Stacks

For additional information about Federal Courts consult

Federal Judiciary

Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information from Federal Appellate, District and Bankruptcy courts, and from the U.S. Party/Case Index. Please note this is not a free service, to obtain access you must register as a user.

Supreme Court

OYEZ 
The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.

Supreme Court Collection [Legal Information Institute at Cornell]

Supreme Court Reporter [print resource] GOV DOC/FED JU 5.9x: Covers 1883-1988

The Supreme Court Database, Washington University School of Law 

CaseLaw

Case Law, the interpretations of statutory and executive law given by the judicial system.

 

United States Reports

The decisions printed in the United States Reports are the official  versions of cases decided by the U.S. Supreme Court.  These cases usually includes a syllabus, the opinion of the Court, concurring and dissenting opinions, if any, the disposition made of each case, and order of the Court.