Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Women's Studies

Reference Books

Women's Roles and Statuses the World Over

With this publication, based solely on statistics and empirical data, Stephanie Hepburn and Rita J. Simon have crafted an important contribution to the study of women in society. Focusing on twenty-six countries from around the globe, they compare the status of women in the areas of education, employment, marriage and divorce, law, abortion and contraceptives, public office, military service, and health care. The countries selected reflect a representative pool of the world's cultures, religions, traditions, and politics. Hepburn and Simon provide a clear discourse of how much more progress must occur to set men and women on equal footing. Comprehensive and distinctive, Women's Roles and Statuses the World Over is an indispensable guide to the social issues, problems, and practices that affect women today

The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America

Recounts the events, movements, court cases, documents, and important figures that make up women's history in America since colonial times, with over 500 entries arranged in alphabetical order.

Handbook of American Women's History

This reference presents articles on key people, events, and ideas that have shaped the history of women in the United States. Thoroughly revised and updated, the second edition draws on the research and expertise of more than 300 contributors and includes more than 100 new entries. In addition, this volume features photographs and illustrations from the Corbis/Bettman archives, each documenting a piece of history and capturing a layer of the emotion and intensity of a past moment." "Written for librarians, students, and teachers, the Handbook of American Women's History, Second Edition provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary view of a crucial field of historical inquiry. Arranged alphabetically, the nearly 1,000 entries are accompanied by a bibliography of primary and secondary sources to which interested readers can turn for more information. Editors Angela M. Howard and Frances M. Kavenik also provide an extensive subject/name index and end-of-entry cross-referencing that make the book a valuable research too

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion

In spite of the sexism that has denied women full active status in their religions, the editor calls this title a "celebration" of the scholarship of recent years. In order to offer a global perspective, contributions were sought from non-Western as well as Western scholars for the 600 signed articles. Entries encompass individual religions and their variations, biographies, movements, issues, and the relationship of religion to the study of art, literature, and science. While broadest coverage is given to the major religions of the world, information is also provided on Sikhism, African religions, Santeria, and Native American religions and many others. An added feature is the synoptic outline, which provides conceptual themes to the reader. This valuable resource is accessible to the high school and college student, to the researcher and the general reade

Nobel Prize Women in Science (Electronic book)

 

A passion for discovery -- Marie Skłodowska Curie -- Lise Meitner -- Emmy Noether -- Gerty Radnitz Cori -- Irène Joliot-Curie -- Barbara McClintock -- Maria Goeppert Mayer -- Rita Levi-Montalcini -- Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin -- Chien-Shiung Wu -- Gertrude Elion -- Rosalind Franklin -- Rosalyn Sussman Yalow -- Jocelyn Bell Burnell.