International Statistics

Agriculture/Food/Fisheries

• FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information System 
  "The FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information System is a pioneering information retrieval tool which groups the organization's vast archive of information on its global activities in agriculture and development in a single area and catalogues it exclusively by country."

   

• FAOSTAT Statistics Database 
  Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN Contains over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics on food production and aid, trade, land use and irrigation, forest and fishery products, population, agricultural machinery, and fertilizer and pesticides.

   

• Foreign Agricultural Service 
  Department of Agriculture site with statistical reports and "Hot Country Pages."

   

• Earth Trends Database 
  World Resources Institute searchable database with information "regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world."

   

• National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) National Marine Fisheries Service World Swordfish Study, World Shrimp and Salmon Culture, and World Fishing Fleets.

   

• OECD Agriculture and Fisheries Statistics 
  Includes detailed support estimates for both OECD and transition economies.

   

• UN/ECE Timber Database 
  Forest and Forest Industries Country Fact Sheets with overviews of forest resources and forest products in Europe, North America and the former USSR.

   

• USDA Economic Research Service Special Topic Briefing Rooms 
  Department of Agriculture site with links to country and regional information, commodity market analysis, and other international agricultural data.

   

• USDA Foreign Agricultural Service: Commodities and Products 
  Links to US and international data.

   

• World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates (WASDE) 
  Full-text monthly reports on the most current USDA forecasts of U.S. and world supply-use balances of major grains, soybeans and products, and cotton.

Climate & Atmosphere

• Earth Trends Database World Resources Institute searchable database with information "regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world." 

• National Climatic Data Center Online Climate Data   Climates of the World, Monthly Climatic Data for the World, and Extreme Weather and Climate Events.

Ecology/Environment

• CIESIN: Center for International Earth Science Information Network 
  Based at Columbia University, the site offers a wide range of data free of charge for personal and noncommercial use. 

• OECD Environment Statistics
  Includes Key Environmental Indicators reports.
   
• UNEP-World Conservation Monitoring Centre 
  Information on globally threatened animals and plants, including statistical analyses of global forest conservation, biodiversity profiles, natural capital indicators for OECD countries, and a protected areas database

• United Nations Sustainable Development 
  Natural resource, social, economic, and institutional indicators.

• World Wildlife Fund 
  Country profiles, Living Planet Reports , Global Annual Forest Reports , plus information on climate change, fisheries, wetlands and threatened species.

Energy

• Energy Information Administration 
  Information about Total Primary Energy, Petroleum, Natural Gas, Coal, Electricity, and Carbon Dioxide Emissions. Data may be searched by individual country.

   

• International Energy Administration (IEA) 
  Includes the "Monthly Electricity Survey," "Monthly Price Statistics," "Monthly Natural Gas Survey," "Monthly Oil Survey," "The World's Energy in Charts and Graphs," and "IEA Energy Technology R&D Statistics.

   

• Joint Oil Data Initiative (JODI): Project on Monthly Oil Statistics 
  Monthly data for the biggest oil producing and consuming countries. **Under development.**

   

• OECD Energy Statistics 
  Energy statistics, prices and taxes and balances, nuclear electricity generation, CO2 emissions, natural, gas, coal, electricity and renewables information.

Science & Technology

• National Science Foundation Science and Engineering Statistics Full-text publications on international resources for science and technology.

• OECD Internet Economy Outlook  Provides data on the evolving Internet economy, emphasises trends across the OECD area, and highlights emerging policy issues.

Transportation

• Bureau of Transportation Statistics 
  International transportation statistics including Latin American Transportation Fact Sheets, International Air Passenger and Freight Statistics, and International Travel and Tourism Statistics.

   

• OECT Trends in the Transport Sector 
  This annual statistical report from the International Transport Forum provides the reader with the first available internationally comparable figures on key transport trends.

Sources are drawn from an excellent guide produced by the University Libraries of the University of Maryland.