Reporters without Borders Press Freedom Rankings "To compile this ranking, Reporters Without Borders asked journalists, researchers, jurists and human rights activists to fill out a questionnaire evaluating respect for press freedom in a particular country. A total of 166 countries are included in the ranking (as against 139 last year). The other countries were left out because of a lack of reliable, well-supported data."
Correlates of War Project "This website is intended to both as a guide to published sources drawn primarily from the Correlates of War data sets as well as various non-COW datasets available through the internet. Towards that end, a bibliography of articles and books by Correlates of War researchers is provided along with a page of links to quantitative international relations data."
Center for Global Policy George Mason University site with data on conflict regions, direct military intervention, political interaction events, bilateral trade flows, memberships in conventional inter-governmental organizations, forcibly dislocated populations, political instability, state fragility, genocide, and arms trade.
Inter-Parliamentary Union Parline Database can be searched for electoral statistics on parliamentary governments.
Minorities at Risk From the University of Maryland. Interactive database gives information on "the status and conflicts of politically-active communal groups in all countries with a current population of at least 500,000."
Political Database of the Americas "Provides documentary and statistical political information on Latin America." Georgetown University site.
Polity IV Project "Coded annual information on regime and authority characteristics for all independent states (with greater than 500,000 total population) in the global state system. Covers the years 1800-2006. "
State Failure Task Force: Internal Wars and Failures of Governance 1995-2004 University of Maryland site provides access to several data resources, including the latest version of the State Failure Problem Set, 1955-2005 (four separate MS Excel files: Ethnic Wars, Revolutionary Wars, Genocides and Politicides, and Adverse Regime Changes).
Terrorism
START: Global Terrorism Database (GTD) University of Maryland site that "an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world since 1970 (currently updated through 2004). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on international as well as domestic terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes almost 80,000 cases."
