Skip to Main Content
site header image

Death records in the River Falls Area Research Center

Information and resources on locating information deceased individuals in the records of the River Falls Area Research Center

Index of headstones in Burnett, Pierce, Polk, and St. Croix Counties

Burnett, Pierce, Polk, and St. Croix Counties cemetery indexes, created circa 1980s-2015

  • You must visit the archives reading room in person to use this resource.

  • The Saint Croix Valley Genealogical Society (SCVGS) completed an extensive project in the 1980s to inventory tombstones in local cemeteries. The Archives holds the resulting tombstone transcriptions for most of the cemeteries in the counties of Pierce, Polk, and St. Croix as well as corresponding surname indexes for each county.

  • Indexes for cemeteries located in Burnett County were created by a number of volunteers.

  • Files for Pierce, Polk, and St. Croix Counties are arranged alphabetically by county name, thereunder in two sections: alphabetically by name of town/city or cemetery and by surname of the deceased. Files for Burnett County are listed under name of cemetery or town/city.

  • Many of these records can also be viewed online at USGenWeb and at Find A Grave, which may have additional information not contained in these indexes.

Note: People interred after the SCVGS project was completed will not be listed; a few of the cemeteries were completed after the surname project was done so names will not be included in the surname index; names may have been missed—double check in the appropriate cemetery’s records if a surname does not appear on the index; tombstones deteriorate due to weather, vandals, etc. over the years, which may account for someone not being listed.

Manuscripts collections with cemetery records

Digital resources

Google Web Search
  • Tabor Lutheran Church records (Pierce County), 1881-1929
    • Photocopied records of a Swedish Lutheran church documenting memberships, marriages, deaths, baptisms, and confirmations. The membership rolls often also note the date of arrival in America. In Swedish and English.
    • Collection can be requested for transfer through the Area Research Center (ARC) Network, consult Reading Room Staff.
    • Locator: 16.F.1
  • St. Croix County, Wisconsin, church and cemetery records (Genealogical Society of Utah Project), 1852-1980 (Microfilm)
    • Copies of records on microfilm of numerous churches and cemeteries in St. Croix County, Wisconsin, microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah in cooperation with the Wisconsin Historical Society.
    • Includes Baptist, Catholic, Congregational, Episcopal, Lutheran, Methodist, Presbyterian, and Unitarian denominations, records usually consist of membership and sacramental record books. Cemetery records usually include the plot locations, names of owners and those interred, and maps.
    • The original records were loaned for copying by their custodians and were returned when copying was completed.
  • Polk County, Wisconsin, church and cemetery records (Genealogical Society of Utah Project), 1837-1980 (Microfilm).
    • Copies of records on microfilm of numerous churches and cemeteries in Polk County, Wisconsin, microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah in cooperation with the Wisconsin Historical Society.
    • Includes Baptist, Catholic, Congregational, Episcopal, Lutheran, Methodist, Presbyterian, and Unitarian denominations, records usually consist of membership and sacramental record books. Cemetery records usually include the plot locations, names of owners and those interred, and maps.
    • The original records were loaned for copying by their custodians and were returned when copying was completed.