Music

Begun in 1944 by Rodgers & Hammerstein, this organization represents their work and others of their ilk. On the site's homepage, visitors will find sections that include "Shows", "Songs", "Concerts", and "Gallery."

Tiomkin was a film composer of some notoriety. On this official website, visitors can listen to excerpts from his film scores, learn about his various awards, and also read a biographical essay.

Lists most major antiquarian bookdealers in the U.S. Members can be located both by specialty and geographical region

Has a searchable database by specialty and location. Click on "Find an Appraisal Expert".

To locate appriasers for autographed manuscript materials.

Independent record appraiser contact info.

A comprehensive resource for jazz fans and musicians, this site includes lists of articles, columns, CD and book reviews, musician interviews, news releases, and links to other jazz-related resources on the Web.

Allmusic can be used to look up an out-of-print recording, to get our take on a new release, or simply to explore the world of music.

Here visitors can watch and listen to the Boston Symphony Orchestra. The archive of performances dates back to 2007, and visitors can read program notes from each performance and also sign up to receive their latest offerings via RSS feed or iTunes. The site has a number of fun surprises, such as "The Complete Symphonies" guide to the symphonies of Beethoven.

CAIRSS is a bibliographic database of music research literature in music education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine.

A joint venture of Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music and the Office of Research and the University Graduate School. Includes resources on singing in foreign languages, music history research info and more.

Geared primarily toward collector's of classical recordings, this site is divided into 7 sections: Basic Repertoire List, Classical CD Buying Guide, Recommended Classical CDs, Composer's Works and Data, Reviews and Articles.

Music Dictionary Online's primary purpose is, in the case of non-English words and phrases, to offer translations and, more generally, and where appropriate, to offer explanations and comments about general (non-musical) and specialist (i.e. musical, etc.

Dedicated to the study of musical instruments with an emphasis on research and history.

Provides access to films (available in RealPlayer) in five categories: Pianists, Composers, Chamber Music, Virtuosos, and Conductors. It also offers info about each participating musician, including external links.

Special features, program companions, multimedia presentations, and more from the long-running and award-winning PBS series.

The digital arts collection of the Library of Congress.

The site includes concerts, interviews, news, profiles, reviews, and studio sessions covering various genres of music. A link under "Discover Songs" allows users to identify and listen to music used between stories on NPR.

Commercial site providing practical information relating to buying and selling instruments. Also, lists sources to aid in researching musical instruments.

5-part series of films showcasing composers, pianists, chamber music, virtuosos and conductors. Offers biographies and discographies of each ot he participating musicians, musical examples and external links.

The New York Public Library's performing arts collection online.

Search through hundreds of digitized collections of composers, singers, and musicians.

To mark the bicentennial of the birth of composer Felix Mendelssohn on February 3, 2009, LC's Music Division, one of the world’s major repositories of primary source material related to the composer, is making available here on its Web site digital images of selected resources from its holdings.

Martin Scorsese recently produced a successful 7-film series about the blues. This PBS site offers detailed informatino about each film, including director info and a complete list of performers featured. It also includes director interviews.

The main goal of the Polish Society for Electroacoustic Music (PSeME) is a promotion of Polish electroacoustic art (electronic music, video art, sound installation, audiovisual and interactive art) abroad, inside the network of festivals, concert series and all other electroacoustic art projects coordinated by the International Confederation of Electroacoustic Music (CIME/ICEM) in Bourges (supported by UNESCO). Includes a playlist of streaming audios files.

Books, bound periodicals, and scores in the library are arranged on the shelf in broad subject areas based on a system called the Library of Congress (LC) Classification.

This presentation explores some of the earliest music transcriptions by explorers, missionaries, and scholars in Egypt, highlighting Moftah's efforts to notate, record, and preserve all Coptic Orthodox hymns.

Provides excellent information on disposing of a collection, including tips on selling a collection and a guide to finding the value of 78s.

Broadcast Music, Inc. collects license fees from businesses that use music, which it distributes as royalties to songwriters, composers & music publishers. This is one of a couple of sites you can search to see if something is still under copyright.

HFA is the foremost mechanical licensing, collection, and distribution agency for music publishers in the U.S.

A reference site to help identify public domain songs and public domain music . . . lists of public domain music, royalty free music recordings you can license, and public domain sheet music reprints.